top of page

Natalie Shay Performs to Sold Out Audiences and Smashing it as an Indie Artist


Indie Artist Natalie Shay

Already performing to sold-out audiences in London, Natalie Shay, at 19, is already a recognized force within the music industry. With a single out that climbed the iTunes singer/songwriter charts all the way to number 4, there is no doubt this award winning artist’s career is going to continue to rise!


Danielle: Your song “Yesterday” is generating a lot of buzz. Can you explain the title, story behind the song and how this song reflects your music style?


Natalie: I suppose the song is basically about a short lived very one sided relationship I was in. I wrote this song essentially the day after I realised I could do so much better than chasing someone who never wanted to completely commit to me. I suppose the title is because at the time of writing it, I’d had my epiphany ‘yesterday’! I wanted the song to still be upbeat because it wasn’t something I’d gotten too down about, I hope others can relate to the lyrics and it can maybe uplift them enough to also walk away.


Danielle: You have performed for sold-out audiences at some of the iconic places in London. Can you tell everyone where you have been performing? What has been your most memorable performance and why?


Natalie: Yes! so my most recent awesome show was my first headline earlier in Feb in London which we sold out!!! It was such an incredible but super fun evening, I’m so grateful to everyone who bought a ticket and made it down. This was probably my most memorable performance because as far as first headline’s go I think it was so fun, and will always be a special memory.


Danielle: If you had to pick three words to describe your personality, what would they be? Besides music, what do you like to do that might surprise your fans?


Natalie: hmmmm, crazy, loud & stressed (lol).

My no.1 main hobby outside of music is musical theatre, I love seeing musicals and taking part in as many as I can, they’re so much fun and act as such a lovely way to break up a week full of music work.


Danielle: Do you write all of your own songs? If there was one message you would want your fans to take away from your music, what would that be?


Natalie: I write all of my own songs in some capacity. Some of my songs for example, ‘Whole of me” and ‘This Feeling’, I wrote solely by myself and worked with incredible producers to take them from just me and an acoustic guitar to what they have become. But of course I often write with other people too. I really enjoy writing my own lyrics because that’s what I feel most comfortable performing, but I love working with new people and seeing what we can write and create.


Danielle: At 20, you have already been recognized by the music industry with more than one award. Can you tell your fans about these awards and how winning has helped move your career forward?


Natalie: The awards I won were a few years back. I’ve always said that without winning these, I would never have ever had the confidence to pursue music as a career let alone full time. One of the main ones was the ‘Best undiscovered talent’ award at the 2015 London Music awards. This was such an incredible evening and it’s definitely changed my life.

Links to Natalie Shay

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page