top of page

Marty Willson-Piper To Release New Music for Record Store Day

Marty Willson-Piper

Hanging Out In Heaven

Marty Wilson-Piper

Okay, let me start with a full disclosure – although I have listened to the music of The Church, I have never before heard a solo album by Marty Willson-Piper. Whilst some folk might see this as reason to read no further, I would argue that this places me in the perfect position to come to this album with fresh ears, so please stay with me and read on.


Hanging Out In Heaven was originally released in 2000, but is being re-released on blue double vinyl (with two bonus tracks) in time for Record Store Day 2019 (April 13) through Schoolkids Records. Although I have not had the chance to hear this on vinyl, I can say that after listening to this as the sun went down today, I like this album. In fact, I like this album a lot.


Willson-Piper explores a number of themes and utilizes a range of musical textures over the length of an album that never feels forced. He seems most at home when the takes his foot off the pedal and allows his voice to roam over sparse, yet beautifully produced down-tempo arrangements. Indeed, the two standout tracks for me – Wondering and I Don’t Think So – are great examples of the songwriter’s laidback approach.


I look forward to hearing this on vinyl – a format that always seems to add extra layers of warmth to any listening experience. In the case of Hanging Out In Heaven, that should make for a very pleasant listen indeed.

Simon says 4.5 out of 5 stars.

As of Saturday, April 13, 'Hanging Out In Heaven' can be found at RSD-participating record stores. This RSD edition is limited to 1,000 copies. Already now, this album is available via online stores and streaming platforms like Spotify, albeit without the two bonus tracks.

Links to Marty Wilson-Piper

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page