top of page

Good Dance Music Does Not Have To Be Profound; Riff Shop Music Review

Riff Shop – Brass Work

EDM Music Riff Shop

In my younger days, when clubbing was something I did on a Saturday night (as opposed to the daddy duties that take up my time nowadays), I went out to clubs to dance. And when I went out dancing, I didn’t want to spend my time deciphering the emotional depth of the songs the DJ was playing – rather, I wanted to lose myself in the beat and have fun.

Brass Work by Riff Shop is a fun piece of music. At a time when a lot of electronic music is taking itself very seriously indeed, this Dublin-based trio have produced a house track that is unapologetically upbeat. Built around a stomping, funk-inspired groove and a live brass hook, guest vocalist Damon C Scott implores the listener to “come party with me”. And that is exactly what you want to do.

I think some recent EDM producers have forgotten that the “D” in the acronym stands for “dance”. Good dance music does not have to be profound, but it does need to make you move. With their latest track, Riff Shop have achieved this seemingly simple task and for that I tip my hat to them.

Simon says 4 out of 5 stars

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page