top of page

I Was Working In Cannabis Dispensaries With The Idea Of Meeting People In The Music Industry


Singer Morrisn

I was born in Glen Innes, NSW, which you probably haven’t heard of because it’s in the middle of nowhere. I’ve always been musical, my father is a guitarist and I’ve always loved to sing and write songs.


My musical journey started when I was 13, my parents bought me a violin and I learned how to read and write music. I started playing guitar when I was 14, I played through high school, later entering the University of Queensland for music, however it was very classical based and I didn’t have the passion for it, so I dropped out.

In 2008, I met an American punk rock singer, Scott Russo of the band Unwritten Law, while on their 2008 Australian tour. We fell in love and I ended up moving to the US where we married six months later.

We were married for four years, during which time I was able to see the music industry first hand, as a musician myself it was fascinating to me to see it through his eyes. It also allowed me to get to know every aspect of the industry, from making a record to releasing and touring. It was as if the universe opened its doors to me and said, ‘is this really what you want?’, my answer of coarse was ‘yes please’.


After our divorce in 2012, I flew home to Australia and spent some time decompressing, then later moved back to San Diego to take advantage of my green card. My desire to create music was burning and getting stronger every day, however I lacked the skills and money to make a record of my own. I decided to do it the hard way, I went to school for Audio Engineering (while I worked two jobs in a foreign country) and after I finished I knew I had to move to LA to network and write music.


I graduated in 2017 and a few weeks after I finished, I threw everything I owned into landfill except for my recording equipment and drove to Venice, LA, where I lived out of my car until I met a friend living on a sailboat in Marina Del Rey. I was working in cannabis dispensaries with the idea of meeting people in the music industry, which I did in fact succeed in doing.


I continued to write music and network. I was lucky to have met and end up working with 2018 Grammy Winner Tristan Boston of Fire Hazard productions who has co-produced two of the songs on my upcoming EP, Helen.


After about six months, I had worked my way up to manager at the dispensary I was working at and moved into a beautiful beach house in Venice, however due to the nature of the business and the crazy people that I kept encountering, and I was also missing my family as I had been away for four years without seeing them.

I quit and decided to go home to Australia and continue my musical journey here.

My father lives in Tamworth, NSW, so I moved there to record my EP in my home studio with my cousin Andrew McMahon on bass and friend Jimmy Craswell on guitar.

We released our first single, ‘Sara’ on 19th September and are due to release our EP in the coming months.


My journey has been quite long and difficult but I wouldn’t change anything. I feel very blessed to have been given the opportunities I have and hope that through my music, I am not only able to revive the old sound, but through overcoming my hardships I want to show people that no matter what happens in life, all obstacles can be overcome and you can come out the other side better and stronger than ever.


Links to Morrisn

Similar Artists To Morrisn






  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page