top of page

Mikalyn; We are all in it together so might as well make it amazing!


Mikalyn

With determination and talent Mikalyn is gaining more fans daily. This old soul at just 16 years old has learned how to use her amazing talent and the powerful tools of social media to advance her already award winning songs. Read about her remarkable accomplishments and what’s next for this dynamic singer / songwriter whose vocal tone is receiving rave reviews! Danielle: You have an album titled “12:15”. Can you explain the title and how this title reflects your music goals?

Mikalyn: 12:15 has a funny story behind it actually. I was brainstorming ideas with my dad. As we got to talking, 12:15 came along. 12 means 12 songs, 15 is for 15 full songs by age 15. However, I realized after printing the CDs and the cover that I actually had 16 songs I wanted to on the album. So… now it’s 15 songs plus a bonus track! The album was like a landmark for me. 12:15 was everything I had completed, so putting it out meant I had completed 12 songs by 15, and it’s only up from here. Danielle: You have an amazing and distinctive vocal tone that has been described as “timeless” or even “haunting”. Who have been your influences in the music industry? How have you used these influences to transform your vocals into your own unique sound? Mikalyn: Thank you! I’ve been growing up around music and immersing myself in it, so I have lots of influences. When I started out, my main influences were Coldplay, Marina and the Diamonds and Halsey. I also listened to what my parents played for me. Sting, Tears for Fears, and ABBA were all artists I grew up listening to. I think it’s very important for artists to have influences in the industry to look up to and take inspiration from. I also find that I draw inspiration from everyone that sings, even the ones that are not pitch perfect Danielle: Since you are still in High School, which makes it difficult to tour, how has social media helped you move your career forward? Mikalyn: Social Media has changed the game a lot. It helps me to reach a wider audience, and get a wider reach for my songs. Social media has also introduced me to many amazing friends and mentors that I value a lot. The shows I can do, I am able to promote through social media. I feel like social media is a valuable tool that we need to learn how to use to our best advantage, and in my opinion that's not a negative thing at all.

Mikalyn

Danielle: Congratulations on winning some international song competitions. Can you tell everyone about the awards and how winning them has impacted your future in music? Mikalyn: Thank you! Winning these competitions has been great. I’ve had writers reach out to me after hearing my songs on the finalist lists, and just knowing that out of all the amazing songs that mine did well, means a lot. Of course it’s not all about winning, but it is nice when your song places. Danielle: Your website https://www.mikalynmusic.com/ reaches out to your fans with a great personal video. If there were three thoughts you would want your fans to take away from your music, your website or you as an artist what would that be? Mikalyn: 3 things I want people to know would have to be this:

  • Nothing comes overnight. To get to where I am today has taken years, and I know it’ll take even more. Just enjoy the ride while you’re on it.

  • If you do what you love, the work is fun. There’s a lot behind the scenes for music that would constitute as work, but since I love it so much it feels like play.

  • When you listen to my music, I want you to know that I wrote it not only for myself, but for you (and I pray that you will find something in it to like and relate to) Thank you so much for taking the time to enjoy my art.

Danielle: What’s next? Is there anything else you would like to announce for your fans or anything you would like them to know? Mikalyn: I want my fans to know that I am writing new music and in the process of starting a new album! I can’t wait for all of you to hear it, and in the meantime I’ll be doing my thing - gigging and recording covers for all of you to hear. I would also like to thank any of my fans for supporting me on my journey so far, it means the world. We are all in it together so might as well make it amazing!


Links to Mikalyn






  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page