top of page

Wrekit88 | Glorious


Wrekit88

The talented Wrekit88 have their first release, comprised of three tracks (plus remixes) out with DeepDownDirty


Glorious demonstrates perfectly how collaboration between musicians, vocalists and electronic music producers can produce results and goes some way to show that one of DeepDownDirty Record Label’s catchphrases “It’s not about the genre” is something this UK-based label really believes.


Wrekit88’s beautiful music was stumbled upon by DeepDownDirty label boss, Maya Stone, on Soundcloud where she fell in love with their emotive compositions and asked them if they would be willing to let a producer create electronic music remixes. Glorious, featuring the gorgeous vocals of Maria Milewska, another talented singer / songwriter, soon grew from a one track release with a remix by deep house music producer and DJ, Col Lawton, to three tracks, each with a thoughtful deep music remix by Col.


To listen to this release in full go here or listen below: https://soundcloud.com/deepdowndirty-111649731/sets/glorious-wrekit88-ft-maria

Purchase the release here from 10 August 2018: https://www.traxsource.com/label/28654/deepdowndirty



And for more about the talented team involved, read on!


Wrekit88 (Chris and Neil) say:


“Neil and I are brothers-in-law. The desire to make music is born from the fact that we are both musicians who like what we like and hate what we hate. That’s how music should be: always evoking a response, whether good or bad.


If people describe our music as "nice" then we know we have missed the mark. The tracks in ‘Glorious’ are driven by losses which both hurt and inspired us, as what does not kill you makes you stronger or some such mantra style bollox.


We like to make music from a completely unbiased point of view if we can; if it comes out sing-songy then so be it and the same goes should we ever want to write a thrash metal track. Ultimately, however, we like strong melodies coupled with classical instruments but with a strong dose of modernity if at all possible. The meeting with Maria indicative of the culture here at Wrekit88: we want to work with people. We can’t sing well enough to do our own vocals but we can offer people the free use of what talent we do possess. We asked Maria if she'd like us to remix one of her songs (free of charge as always) she agreed and since then we've not looked back. To be honest, that was decent of her as some people you ask make you feel like you're asking for a kidney! Isn't music meant to be shared? If you can sing, don't you want to be heard? Why keep your song ideas in a cobweb covered book, in a box, or in the attic? You don't have to! Speak to us and we will do whatever we can for whoever wants to join in.


We have to-date produced, at no cost to anybody, remixes for people all over the world as we love what we do. We want to work with more singers and songwriters but let me assure you if Maria is the last voice we work with then I can die happy as she sings with a subtle beauty that leaves me stunned.



Col Lawton says:


“I’m a DJ and producer from Newcastle upon Tyne. I’m 39 years-old with 18 years of musical experience behind the decks but now making music of my own and am passionate about producing and remixing, seeking inspiration for different sounds from indie dance to jazz to deep house (which I love).

Music for me is a feeling… I look for the emotive feel of a vocal or synth or a part of track that gives has the ability to touch your heart,

I’ve always been very into the music scene, since about the early 90s although not dance music at that stage but more bands such as Nirvana, indie rock or pop music. I think I’ve always had an ear for the way the vocals in a track make you feel and been inclined to listen to the message a track is trying to convey. I didn’t get into House music until 2001 when I discovered the Shindig Nightclub in Newcastle and that deep underground house night blew my mind – I loved the rhythm and drive of the music I would hear there every Saturday night.

Music became very important to me and my escape, really. I have tendency to get addicted to things and as soon as I invested in a set of decks music became my addiction; I haven’t stopped practising and playing for the last 18 years!

In October 2017 had an interesting year behind the decks and played some cool gigs in the North East of England. However, then I decided I wanted to try produce – something I had been thinking about for years.- so I bought all the equipment I needed to get started and as with Djing before it music production has become my new obsession and I haven’t stopped since that moment. I do try to create something a little bit different from the norm however and use my past musical influences in the tracks I create.

DeepDownDirty Record Label has been amazing since we started met online. I have done plenty of networking myself but Maya, the owner of DeepDownDirty, has linked me up with a number of amazing artists such as Wrekitt8 and when I first heard Glorious I thought this is the kind of challenge I really want to work on. Glorious was my first remix project; I loved the vocals and the composition of the track when I first heard it and I thought to myself. “I can create something deep and cool with this,”.

Maria Milewska provides a great vocal but I wanted to do a distorted vocal as I always love tracks when you can’t quite understand the vocal and your brain makes one up (well mine does anyway!). The result has been brilliant and although I felt the pressure a bit whilst waiting for Chris and Neil from Wrekitt88 to let me know if they were happy with the remix of the title track I was delighted when they told me how pleased they were! In fact everyone was so pleased, including DeepDownDirty, that another two tracks were added to this release and I was asked to provide remixes.

Chris from Wrekitt88, a fellow Geordie, has been amazing to work with. He has helped me with my music productions as well as with working with vocals.”

Glorious is special to me; not only is it my first ever remix but working on this project gave me the confidence I needed to push on with my music and to keep challenging myself and expanding my skills.



Maria says:


“When I was little my would sing folk songs to me. It wasn’t long before I learned some of the songs and developed a love of singing. From the age of about six I would write pop songs on my Casio keyboard, some of which I can still remember! Luckily there’s no evidence of these songs as they never made it onto our 80’s Camcorder.


Aged eight I won a talent contest singing the ‘Queen of the Night Aria’ (there actually is a film of me singing this wearing a full Queen of the Night costume!). I started formal singing lessons at the age of ten.

Nowadays I’m less interested in performing and more in composition across the board. I compose top-lines for dance tracks and am working on an electronic music album with my boyfriend who is a producer and a bit of a ‘beat Jedi’; it’s called ‘Digitalis’ and will be released on his label 'Mindtrick Music'.


I even write music for fantasy role playing games (table top dungeons and dragons style!) which is sounds a bit random but is actually a lot of fun. Recent pieces include a piece for a Gnomes’ Market Place and a piece to depict Frost Giants’ marching to war!


I write kids’ songs too; something which began when I wrote a song for my nephew and everyone loved it so much that I ended up writing more!

At the moment I am composing the music for a small indie fantasy-based game called 'Realms Edge’.


Neil and Chris (Wrekit88) found me online through Soundcloud, and asked me if they could remix one of my songs ‘Starlight'. I agreed and they came up with a beautiful loungy / dnb version which is still one of my favourite versions of that song. After that, they started asking me to sing some of their songs. I cant be credited with any of the composition for Glorious, but I really enjoyed being the vocalist for it!”




AVAILABLE ON TRAX SOURCE




  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page