top of page

Paula Standing | There Was Also Some Composing In The Shower


Paula Standing

My mother, a wonderful singer, introduced me to singing and music very early in life. It all began at these fabulous parties that my parents and their friends use to hold. Songs were written on big pieces of card and people stood around the piano, singing into the very early hours of the morning. A lot of these people were dairy farmers and there wasn’t a lot of time between the end of the party and the start of morning milking, but the enjoyment they got from it was something they stays with me still. After high school I went onto study music and voice. I always liked performing and as a young mum performing in musicals, concerts and plays was a great outlet for me.


We relocated from Queensland to South Australia for a sea change. It also became a bit of a music change. A good friend with a hugely eclectic taste in music introduced me to people I hadn’t heard before, like Lucinda Williams, John Prine and Iris Dement. I really came to like their writing styles and as a result then found other influences. I also began working in disabilities and spent a crazy amount of time driving around the city. To stop the boredom, I used to sing songs as I drove. It just struck me one day that I could use the time better so I decided to make up my own songs.


The car and driving remained the main place for composing for a couple of years. [There was also some composing in the shower, but eventually water consumption became an issue and that had to stop.] All my lyrics were written down in my trusty blue notebook, but for several years the melodies remained entirely in my head.


A series of events occurred which pushed me into the world of singer songwriter. First, I changed jobs and started teaching myself guitar. At my first cover gig, I was asked if I had a CD. I thought maybe everyone has a CD these days!


That sort of sowed a seed and after some investigation I took a bunch of my favourite songs that resonated with me most, into Red Brick Music studio. Lucinda Williams, John Prine, Eric Bogle, Hank Williams, Gillian Welch and others, the sort of songwriters I most admire and attempt to emulate. I share their passion for people and their stories. I produced a demo album ‘In The Living Room’ reflecting where my love of singing all began. The same place I had been developing this story telling style.


This pushed me into working on my original material and after I received a substantial redundancy package, I created a website and produced a full album of originals, released under the aptly named title of Telling Tales. Sometimes I write from a personal perspective, but often I am telling the stories I see and hear around me. Occasionally, I make it up just to keep you guessing.


After the launch, I was at a loss where to go next.


I was keen to dive in the deep end, so I studied Music Business, joined a local songwriter group and was introduced to a whole family of local musicians and industry people. I learned more than I thought possible in a short time with everything from how to get onto radio to little gems like Sia’s ‘just keep turning up’ .


I took guitar lessons from local musician Emily A Smith and with her help, recorded and released a new single Running Away. Moving away from the bare, raw sound I first recorded, we started adding layers. I continued to record, completing a new album All Fun & Games while working with a swag of local people. Good timing found the dulcet tones of Mick Albeck’s unmistakable country fiddle on five of the tracks. Released December 2015, I was elated when it received airplay on community stations locally and interstate.


I was wrapped when invited, to be part of a songwriting team to produce a show of songs about Adelaide. Adelaide -The Songs, was developed and performed at various Festivals and venues around SA over the next two years, receiving rave reviews along the way. We wrote a brand new show last year, Adelaide Songs Director’s Cut, which debuted in the recent Adelaide Fringe with more stunning reviews.


In between all of this, I co-produced two other shows.


‘A Night In Greenwich Village’ a trek through the 60’s folk movement in New York with three fellow musicians, performed in 2016 Umbrella Festival. It was such a hit we had to turn people away, so we repeated it the following year. Just to make sure we knew people really loved it, Fleurieu Folk Festival invited us to perform it twice.


‘Thrilling You Softly‘ was a duo of original stories, presented as a personal journey in the most recent Umbrella Festival. An intimate affair of the heart drew a curious, but delightfully new, audience.


I pushed my latest recording adventure further and introduced a killer drum and bass section. I Tried To Write A Christmas Song was released as a single late 2016. Then in 2017, I enlisted Natalie Henry to stage the release of the single Pity Me with a music video and a new six track EP Good Heart. A fresh effort, rewarded with a healthy You Tube following.


A stint at DAG Sheep Station Songwriter Retreat produced four co-writes including a session with the prolific Lola Brinton and another with Lachlan Bryan [The Wildes]. Songwriting collaborations introduced a new dimension to my songwriting. An extremely productive process, I walked away with five new songs, the fifth I wrote on my own, finishing as I drove back to Sydney.


This year, I have begun working with a mentor; will record my first ever online show with Netgigs and have started writing a new Umbrella show ‘Two Chicks and a Boom’. This, with more trips interstate planned to work with other songwriters and producers, is gearing up to be the biggest year yet.


There is never a moment to pause. People I worked with in the office, ask what do I do all day?


LINKS




  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page