top of page

The Unsigned Library

The Unsigned Coalition project began over 2 years ago, after having the artist behind it had the opportunity to record a song for a TV show, I couldn’t believe the buzz I got from writing a song to brief, recording it the next day, knowing people would hear my song and being paid for the privilege! I was hooked.

From there I set about looking into how I can build a career in music licensing, to find out it wasn’t as easy as I thought and I would need a publisher to license my music and to have licensed my music in order to get a publisher, so it felt totally off limits. Then I looked into licensing libraries and again got stopped at the first hurdle because I received a contract an inch thick and couldn’t afford a lawyer to look at it for me, so I didn’t proceed, I was heart broken, that a potentially great career option was so unobtainable….

The Biz

This is why The Unsigned Library was born, I wanted to find a way of making it much more pro musician, so working with a selection of musicians on brainstorming the necessary points TUL would need to offer independent musicians, they were;

1) musicians must get 100% of the license value

2) We need to be fairly paid for our music, so pricing the licenses to reflect the quality is very important.

3) Clear legals, making it easier to understand and attractive to musicians to embark upon.

4) Lastly to educate, ensure independent musicians learn that music licensing as a financially rewarding career option. Providing musicians of now and the future with a great music career option, Finally!

Built for musicians by musicians, so the aim is for the project to be built by musicians literally, it would be such a great PR story if the bricks and mortar were built by musicians.

A traditional music licensing library focussing on the power of emotion and emerging artists. Seeking songs with that extra something, we want to pitch the library to advertising agencies and production houses, eventually being known as the place to find the next big sound, the platform will also then draw attention from A&R, music producers, managers & labels too, so it will be the ultimate hub for unsigned artists.

Shining a light on the quality and quantity of untapped music and linking it with brands and advertising agencies. Advertising is a core focus for TUL as this is where my background is and after years of working amongst creative campaigns and seeing the work available I know the potential it has. Linking a brand with emerging talent can have invaluable and long term results for both.

The Team

So far the project has been driven by me and I have been working with musicians, consultants, music lawyer & web developers. Although they are not an official team, they are very much integral to the company as it currently stands.

We are excited to get this out and about - Check out The Unsigned Library Here

The Unsigned Library

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page