top of page

Born Ruffians | Miss You


Born Ruffians EP

"I found this old voice memo on my phone from 2015 called 'I miss you so much baby'," says the band's Luke Lalonde. "It was just the chorus of 'Miss You' with vocal and piano, very early 60s vibe.

I guess I just heard it on the right night when I had a guitar at hand and the rest of the song came very quickly.

I think the narrator is a mix of pure ego and emotional suffering. He thinks the people walking by him on the sidewalk actually care about him, or are paying attention to him. This guy is sort of full of himself but he’s proud of his pain and his longing, he feels like it elevates him somehow and he wants to show it off." Born Ruffians’ new album, Uncle, Duke & The Chief, feels brashly defiant in its embrace of old-school rock ‘n’ roll aesthetics. In lieu of mouse-clicked studio trickery, it invites you to bask in the natural reverb of the handclaps, tambourine rattles, and booming drum beats bouncing off the studio walls. It is a record less concerned with what sounds hip than what feels good.

Uncle Duke & The Chief was produced by Richard Swift (Foxygen, Tennis, Nathaniel Rateliff).

Born Ruffians

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page