top of page

Black Jack | Mary Jane


Black Jack | Mary Jane

Jack Hawksworth AKA Black Jack UK, born and bred in south Manchester, Wythenshawe estate.

He says: "Mary Jane isn't specifically about a girl I know called Mary Jane, the song was just based on things I see and stories I hear around the world. We see kids committing suicide for a number of different reasons, the story shows two sides though, which was my main aim that if kids are listened to a lot more then maybe they won't take that route, as we know I write around things that I see go on in the world also and that is where I got the inspiration for that song……”

"I was raised by a single mother with 4 boys on a rough council estate, my father left in 1993 when I was 3 years old and never bothered with us after that. From a young age I always had a love for hiphop, my inspiration as a child was a group called MOBB DEEP, a gangster rap group from Queens, New York, USA".

Jack continues: "As a teenager I found myself going down the wrong path which led me to prison. At 16 years of age one of my close friends A.J was sadly murdered and taken away from us which didn't help with my attitude towards life. It was only in prison when i started to write my own music, bored in my cell which I found that I had a gift in something I truly loved to do. When I was released for the final time I started to use my lyrics and make them worth while.

I started to go to the studio and get my music recorded properly. I had music videos made for me and got them out there and found that people liked what I did. I started to focus more on this which then led to my story being added to the Manchester evening news paper and the daily mirror online websites which they also featured my music video "Life Diary". This was a big break through for me and my journey has only just begun".

Jack met Nubreed in prison - Nubreed was not a prisoner, but there to teach music to the prisoners. He saw potential with Jack and took him under his wing and they stayed in touch when Jack left prison.

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page