top of page

Ben Barbic | I'm Not An Artist That Is Comfortable Asking “Hows Everybody Doing”

I'm consumed with music.


It was at 5 years old I started to record my voice and became fascinated with recording voice. Around the same time I started rhyming during every day tasks to keep myself occupied. There came a point where I felt my voice needed to be heard by others.

Sometimes while writing it takes me awhile to find the words to say - other times I can have a whole song written in a day and the right melody comes out of nowhere.

I’ll be doing something and “boom” the melody will find its what into my mind.

Ben Barbic

When that happens either you get it down, or it leaves forever. It took me awhile to realize that.

I would think I will remember this and then...no. Gone. You have to capture the idea when it presents itself or that gift will go away.


The songs I create come from a personal space. Same when I perform, I really want the crowd to listen. I'm not an artist that is comfortable asking “hows everybody doing” or even tries to hype the crowd. I'm perfectly content if the audience members listen with the same expression they would have if looking at a piece of art in a gallery.

However the listener interprets my art I'm cool with. Dance, bob your head, stare, whichever you feel do. It's art, your interpretation is what it's all about.


I have always resonated with artists like Bob Dylan and Kurt Cobain because I felt they were more of artists than entertainers and I think there is a giant difference in the two. Please know though I don’t find any fault with entertainers, it's needed and important. It's just not who I am so I don't pretend to be that.

Like everyone else I have many sides to my personality and try to make music on whatever authenticity in myself feels like coming out when I step into the studio to write. I never have felt a part of any one group - more a little bit influenced and a part of many groups.


My music is the same. I can play a reggae show, a hip hop show, a pop show or even have done acoustic shows and tend to maintain a level of genuineness in my music.

I am a lifelong musician and will be making music and striving to make as good a song my whole life. I am currently signed to a distribution deal with Reggae Label Rebel Sound Records. My latest releases are an EP called “Brighter Days” recorded in Miami Florida at Velvet Basement with Polaris studios and Multiple Singles recorded in Paris France with Producer Israel Rinaldo. Later this year I will be dropping many new releases.

My name is Ben Barbic, currently living in San Jose California, and I hope you enjoy and connect with my music. Bless


LINKS

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page