top of page

Cherie Rain | Music is the only magic I believe in

I was brainstorming for a meaningful name for my solo music endeavors, Karine is my birth name, but I feel it's not necessarily suiting to my artistic persona. Karine comes from the Italian Carina which means "Beloved". My grandmother always called me "ma

Chérie", a French term of endearment that also translates to "my beloved". "Rain" symbolizes the mood of this project. Melancholy and soothing darkness, heavy and mellow! It was the rainstorms in my life that directly triggered my growth and depth of character, allowing me to cherish my hardships for the lessons they taught and the person they made me.

Music was always the outlet I used to express my heartaches and struggles. It was my escape, my exorcism and my redemption. Music is my purest and truest voice, a piece of my soul. forever forging the creative spirit living within me, Cherie Rain.


I'm influenced by all styles of music, my taste is eclectic. I've have always been most attracted to aggressive music. Hardcore, Metal and underground Hip Hop. I just love the real and raw sound. But I can immerse myself in many other genres including Blues, Funk, Soul, RnB, Rock, Pop, Jazz, Trip Hop and Indie Singer/Songwriter. It all depends on my mood. Anything that allows me to FEEL. I love to relate to the multi facets of a song. The rhythm, the lyrics, the vibe. I enjoy entering world of creativity intended by the artist.

Cherie Rain

My previous band Eye Ra Haze was a musical balance of hard riffs and melodic soft spots, lead by our singer, Natasha's strong and compelling vocals.


Aside from My solo project (Cherie Rain), I am currently involved in 3 other side projects/bands (Meridiem, White Ebony, Bonnie & Hyde) . Meridiem, formed of Eye Ra Haze's instrumentalists Nicole Papastavrou, Kevin Corcoran, Chris Marrone and myself,

is the aftermath of Eye Ra Haze.

This project is also heavy, with allowances for softer, melodic moments. The Music is very experimental, progressive and completely instrumental. With no genre restrictions, we explore our creativity freely.

White Ebony officially came together in May of this year. It is a fusion of Funk, Soul and Hip Hop. My band mates Kareem Denis and Vic Orena generate so much creative innovation, consistently influencing and shaping new directions of my artistry.

Bonnie and Hyde is a collaborative project with my husband, long revered underground Hip Hop artist Mr.Hyde. The premise of this upcoming EP will be Hip Hop Lyrics over my own original piano compositions and instrumental arrangements with a dark yet meaningful theme.


All these collaborations greatly uplift and motivate me, but the passionate need to create my own brand of soft yet haunting music remains ever present in my heart.

By sharing this part of me, I can allow people to relate to my deepest truths, heartbreaks and conquests. Music is the only magic I believe in. It ignites my fire to create and elevate, it fuels my dedication. Every time I was faced with devastation or loss, Music was there acting as my physical and spiritual medicine. Even when all is well and I feel content, it still contributes to enhance my overall happiness.

Links

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page