top of page

Chris Watkins | There Is Great Strength That Comes From Us Supporting One Another As Indie Artists

I am Chris Watkins, a musician-singer-songwriter.

Hailing from Alaska, I am the founding member of the band the Drunk Poets. My father was also a musician.

Cris Watkins

I began playing the guitar at the age of 10, and by the age of 16 I had formed the alternative band the Drunk Poets, which had a big influence in the Alaska music scene in the 90's.

I have continued to carry the band name with various members coming and going over the years.

Some of my influences have been Lou Reed, U2, Talking Heads, and Bob Dylan.

I am largely influenced through reading. I am currently residing in Alaska where I continue to write and record music.

I have found that Alaska provides the perfect environment for me to write and compose music in. I have 6 albums available on itunes, my most recent album is 'Lights All Askew'. I just finished writing my next album and I hope to be able to record and have it out in the next few months. I have been completely focused on writing and recording the last few years but I do hope to be able to plan a tour sometime in the near future.

If there is one thing i have learned over the years in this business, it is that there is great strength that comes from us supporting one another as indie artists.

We also need to be supporting indie music blogs and magazines like 'Music Talks', they are working hard to provide a voice for indie artists.

Take the time to appreciate each others work/art/music and share it on your social media sites.

I am very grateful for the loyal support I have received from my friends and fellow artists on Twitter and Facebook over the last few years, thank you all so much!

Chris Watkins Social Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page