top of page

Breeze Millard | Small Town Whyalla Girl Takes The World On With Both Hands

My name is Breeze Millard and I am a singer, songwriter and recording artist from South Australia.

In late 2016, I was awarded the inaugural Whyalla Recording Scholarship - an opportunity for a young Whyalla-based musician aged between 12 and 19 to take advantage of an "all-expenses-paid" professional recording studio package, working with Stormfront Productions to record a mastered Release Single and then year-long support to promote and sell my song to the world.

Growing up as an aspiring singer songwriter, I take every chance I can to showcase my talents to my community, and auditioning for WRS seemed like a natural progression to expand my horizons and showcase my talents!

Since a very young age I have performed onstage dabbling with musical theatre, rock and pop styles and singing at showcases such as "Jamm for Genes" (raising money for the Children's Medical Research Institute) and "Carols In The Park" (the largest free concert event in regional South Australia).

Breeze Millard

Singing has always been my driving passion, and being now halfway through my WRS year my singing career has been pushed to new heights. The Whyalla Recording Scholarship has allowed me to record and release my debut original song ‘I HAVE MY OWN LIFE’ and also gain the skills to manage my own career as an independent artist. When we started the recording process we demo'ed ‘I HAVE MY OWN LIFE’ to allow us to audition it across Australia, and overseas to some of the very best session musicians available. Amazingly we received positive responses from players in Hollywood, New York and the Gold Coast and were lucky enough to obtain some of the very best session musicians in the world including the phenomenal Ryan Hoyle & Andrew Synowiec.

Once recorded and mixed my song was proudly mastered by the great and now sadly passed Tom Coyne in New York - Tom has mastered an extraordinary range of the biggest hit music from around the world, for artists such as Beyonce, Taylor Swift and Adele.

The entire production team have all helped ‘I HAVE MY OWN LIFE’ become the powerful track I always dreamed it would be - I am truly honoured these talented people found the time to work on my song.

WRS has also seen me invited to do many interviews on radio stations and music blogs across Australia and internationally - with lots of airplay really supporting my Single's release. ‘I HAVE MY OWN LIFE’ reached number 8 on the AMRAP Regional Chart and has been selling well on digital distributors such as iTunes and CD Baby - and a live CD Launch was held in my hometown of Whyalla, playing to a packed house. It was so nice to sign autographs and meet fans after the show.

Our latest promotional project has been the production of a Music Video to accompany my song. This was released on Saturday June 3rd and notched up over 2000 views in the first 48 hours which is really exciting. Recording a Music Video was amazing, and I really enjoyed the opportunity to be "hands-on" in the creative process, showing other elements of depth and emotion within me and my song.

My "live" highlight so far has been performing ‘I HAVE MY OWN LIFE’ at the prestigious Channel 9 Young Achiever Awards at the Adelaide Hilton International in front of a sold-out Grand Ballroom. This was an inspiring night celebrating young achievers and I was overwhelmed by the uproar of applause for my original song.

The Whyalla Recording Scholarship has been a big step in my singing and songwriting career - and I still have another 6 months to go! I hope everyone can support me as I continue to follow my dreams.

Please visit: www.breezemillard.com

..... to buy the song, watch the Official Music Video, and find out more about me and my story.

Breeze Millard Social Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page