top of page

James Bakian | The guy is struggling to process the reality that she’s gone

My name is James Bakian. I'm 12 years old and I live in London. I'm a singer songwriter and a musician. Two of my songs below (You're Gone and By Your Side) are through to the semi-finals of the UK Songwriting Contest 2016 which I'm really excited about!

James Bakian

So a bit about me...I've been singing along to music for as long as I can remember and I wrote my first song aged 6, inspired by watching Michael Jackson! Here's a link to a video my dad made of me singing my first song "Oh baby" with my brother doing backing vocals https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-66afdNujV8 (but that's just for fun, not for a review, haha!)

I started piano lessons about age 7 and really enjoyed improvising with chords and making up tunes but then about a year ago I started to write my own songs. Then in May 2016 I performed one of my songs in a talent show at school and I won, beating a lot of older kids! That persuaded my parents to let me make demo recordings of 4 of my songs just last month. The recording was simply my vocals and my piano teacher playing the melody. I loved the whole experience and already want to do more recording when I've saved up some more money!! My brother has helped me make music videos for three of my songs and we are in the process of making more videos. My passion is singing and songwriting and my greatest musical influences are Adam Levine and Maroon 5 but I also love other singers such as Charlie Puth, Sam Smith, Adele, Ed Sheeran, Sia and of course Justin Bieber!

I generally write songs about being in love or breaking up with someone. The first song I've submitted is called "You're Gone". It's about a guy whose girlfriend has left him and the conflicting emotions of sadness mixed with anger he's feeling. The guy is living in the past dreaming of when he was still together with his girlfriend and how the break-up has left him confused, lonely, fearful but also angry that she's left him and convinced that she must also be scarred by the split. The guy is struggling to process the reality that she’s gone and the permanence of it all. Below is the YouTube Video link and soundcloud link.

The second song "There She Is" is about a guy who is madly in love with a gorgeous girl but she doesn't know it and she doesn't know the effect she has on him! He's wondering if they'll ever be together!

"You Did" is another song about a painful break-up. The guy is wondering whether he'll ever recover…

and "By Your Side" is a love song in which the guy is promising to always be there even in the hardest times.

James Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page