top of page

Ramy Falcon | "I Have Just Won My First Gold Record and am Recording With The Stars Of My Yout

Growing up in Cuba is not an easy thing. There was always a lack of food and a lack of liberty, which might as well be the same. Music was my only escape and that of many others. Cuba is known for its music, and many greats have come before me; Celia Cruz, Pablo Milanés, Chucho Valdés, Gloria Estefan and more recently Gente de Zona.

When music is ones only freedom, you hold to it with all your strength and might! And that is exactly what I did.

I grew up in a little shack, with dirt floors, but which was always filled with music. At a very early age, thanks to my mother, I had a chance of listening to the great Latin singers and artists. I remember standing in front of the mirror listening to Luis Miguel and pretending that I was him. I remember listening to Jose Jose albums at night and crying myself to sleep lost in his lyrics and melodies.

One morning, walking to school, trying to sing the songs that had put me to sleep the night before, I was stopped in the street and asked by a woman if I was a singer. My answer was of course no, but that was the beginning. Right after I answered, I thought, but I might be! That same afternoon I formed my first band.

I was lucky enough to have been gifted with a very nice voice. And before I knew I had gigs all over town and was singing 6 nights a week. Composition came during that time like a natural progression. Its great to do covers, but I have things I want to express and say as well!

During this time, I was discovered by Paul Seaquist, President of SP Records, who approached me and offered me a recording contract after hearing just one of my songs! I couldn’t believe it! I have always been very thankful to him since he gave me a once in a lifetime chance. He offered me a house, a record deal and now one only one year later I have just won my first Gold Record and am recording with the stars of my youth.

As I said before, music was my escape from oppression, it gave me the freedom I so needed, the freedom my country still needs. My music made me free…It is my intention to make other people dream with my music as I used to do when I was a kid.

Ramy Falcón

Ramy's Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page