top of page

Natalie Pearson | "I'm Fairly Sure I Came Out Of The Womb Singing And Dancing"

Natalie Pearson is a pop-country singer-songwriter from North Perth, Western Australia. She's just released her EP, Long Time Coming, debuting at No. 2 on the Country iTunes Chart.

I can't remember a time when I wasn't performing. I'm fairly sure I came out of the womb singing and dancing, though my mum tells me it all started with the musical Annie. I watched it religiously on repeat and it wasn't long before I knew every line, every song lyric and all the dance moves. My mum had signed me up for dancing lessons early to channel my energy, instead of tap dancing around the kitchen. I participated in a shopping centre talent quest age 5, where they gave me the encouragement award, and invited everyone along for a sing at a karaoke party. Of course, I sang Tomorrow from Annie. And as a tiny 5 year old, I don't think anyone quite expected the big voice that came out.

Natalie Pearson

I did a lot of performing as a kid, and in my teens, and once I was old enough play pubs, I hit the live band scene in Perth and really got my teeth stuck in by playing covers. The writing came later. I had written a few ideas down over the years (all terrible!) but didn't really focus until recently. I started collaborating and working with other writers and gaining confidence.

I was a huge Shania Twain and LeeAnn Rimes fan in my teens, but I had spent most of my music absorption in the pop-rock pub band scene so originally that's where I thought my sound was. All the 'pop-rock' music I was putting out had a country vibe about it, and seemed to be naturally swinging that way. Shania obviously made her mark on me!

I started working on my EP, and embracing 'me'. I stopped trying to be something I thought I was supposed to be, and as such the record has some personal songs. I called it 'Long Time Coming' because it was a long time of realisation and acceptance, and letting go of the things that held me back. At first I was apprehensive for people to hear it. Some of the tracks are really raw and vulnerable. The seven-track EP has a few ballads but also a few up-tempo, happy, hopeful songs.

One of the songs, 'Chance at Love' was awarded 'Best Country' at last year's Australian Independent Music Awards (MusicOz).

What I love about country music: it's got this authenticity unlike any other genre. It's personal and real. I hope anyone listening to my EP will walk away knowing they're not alone and that there is beauty in imperfection and vulnerability, and once you accept who you are, great things can happen.

I went to my first Tamworth Country Music Festival this year and I loved every second. It was incredible to be surrounded by live music, talented artists and inspired country music fans. It will be the first of many, for sure!

My ultimate goal would be to turn my passion into a career. There is a lot of talent around Australia, and I'm so inspired by those who follow their dreams and make it work.

This year I will be trying to meet, and play my music front of as many people as I can. I have a few shows around Australia, starting in April, where I'll be playing in the foyer at Perth Arena before the Dixie Chicks concert, as well as some support shows in regional WA, Melbourne and Sydney.

Natalie Pearson's Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page