top of page

Afteralice | "Jason And I Did 8 Tracks Complete Through email And Never Met or Talked on The Ph

Aiken, South Carolina band, Afteralice is made up of Steven Fennell (Producer, Arranger, Drummer, Manager) and Jason Crowden (Songwriter, Vocals, Guitars, Engineer).

The two who have worked on solo projects and with other bands and started recording together soon after they met, as they both felt that Afteralice would be the project that would go well beyond anything they had accomplished thus far.

It’s a miracle that in this day and age – where the modern rock landscape has been reduced to wimps, posers, infuriating radio saturation, and talentless talent show crowd hacks – Afteralice has managed to put out songs of surging, rollicking, genuine good-old rock and roll.​

"In short, there isn’t a lot of rock music that really gets me excited anymore. There are lots of great songs out there today, but too many of the bands seem interchangeable and as a result disposable."

Afteralice

How Afteralice was formed:

"I responded to an add that Jason posted that his cover band was looking for a drummer. I was really burned out from touring with my other previous acts and was seriously considering retiring and just playing golf.

I really wanted to take a break, touring is brutal, and I was doing some serious soul searching if I wanted to really do this.

It took a while for Jason to reply, I completely forgot about it actually, he was probably looking at my background and just checking me out I guess.

Jason and I exchanged emails and he had some originals that he wanted to collaborate with me on. I was thinking to myself, thank God I don't have to do the cover scene again, not that there is anything wrong with that, I have not done that for a long time. I was taking it easy playing golf and a couple months later he sent me 4 songs that he wanted me to do some drum tracks and add input production wise.

I have done other remote recording projects before, but there was some kind of contact either by phone or in person. This is going to sound crazy but Jason and I did 8 tracks complete through email and never met or talked on the phone.

We did finally meet for lunch one day and we have been together ever since.

We do record now together in each others home studio and we re tracked all the songs previously done.

99 Gold is our first single.

Links to Afteralice:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page