top of page

Mr J | "The story of a STRAIGHT EDGE EMCEE"

The story takes place in the year of 1994 in Detroit, MI.

A very young kid by the name of David who just happen to come home from a long day at school, to be greeted by his brother to come down-stairs.

My brother Micheal said to me, "WATCH THIS". He played Flavor In Ya Ear by Craig Mack that he recorded on a VHS tape days before.

Prior hearing Flavor In Ya Ear I couldn't tell you what hip hop or rap was. I couldn't tell you what Real hip hop felt like, but at that moment when I heard the song I knew I felt something.

The beat, the flow, the way the words were put together. "You won't be around next year, my rap's too severe, kickin' mad flavor in ya ear".

I had an older cousin that brought the cassette single of 'Flavor in ya ear'. I begged him to borrow it, he said yes.

I listen to it non-stop, days later I ask him if I could have it; he said no. I begged him again until he finally said yes, (I guess the sound of a whiny kid will make any one change their mind).

It was that moment I said, I wanted to be a rapper. But back then being a rapper meant you have to have skill. To be able to put words together, own the listeners ear, and command the crowd's attention. But in today's generation..........not so much.

Mr J

In school every Friday my teacher Ms. Taylor would have a talent show for her students. What ever your talent was, you were able to perform in front of the class. No brainer, a young Mr.J would rap, what would I rap you asked? 'Flavor In Ya Ear of course'.

This was the first time I perform in front of people. Was I nervous? Of course I was, but that was my chance to own the spotlight.

People were cheering for me, even the teacher cracked a smile and stood quietly in the corner.

Giving us young talented kids a chance to shine every Friday. I thank Ms. Taylor (where ever she might be) for my first taste of the spotlight.

Now that I have this new found passion how do I perfect it? The only way I knew how was to keep listening to more Hip-Hop artists. Every new artist I listen too, I wanted to rap like. So I studied them all, to the T. The Notorious B.I.G., 2Pac, Busta Rhymes, Outkast etc. I wanted to rap their songs the exact same way they did, and if I said a word wrong or the flow wrong I felt like I had failed.

"OK! let's try this again", I said to myself until I got it right. I remember when Mo' money, mo problems by The Notorious B.I.G. came out, I thought it was THE GREATEST song in the world at that time. I tried to learn the song by heart, but for some reason I couldn't get it, I'm not sure what it was but I couldn't get it.

A friend of mine who happen to rap at the time knew every word to the song and that bothered me. Sometimes you can take things a bit to serious, but it's called passion and you have to take your passion seriously.

Over time someone said to me, "hey! you can rap", have you ever thought about writing your own raps?

Before that question I can honestly say that I never thought about writing my own raps. But I gave it a try, and just like the present it was hit or miss (mostly miss). But that's what happens when you try to find your way starting out, those raps were terrible.

But the more I wrote, I knew I wanted to sound super lyrical and over the top.

I was listening to alot of Nas, Common and OutKast.

I pretty much design my style around those guys, but mainly Common. Common is intelligent, lyricist and also a gentleman. That's who I wanted to be, an emcee who can speak spoken word with style and grace, and still be himself at the same time.

See more of Mr J on his social media:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page