top of page

INDI | Five minutes with INDI

Even at the age of just 21, Melbourne singer/songwriter INDI already has a string of noteworthy performances under her belt. In 2012 she had the opportunity to perform on Channel 7’s ‘The Morning Show’, and shortly after, she took out first place in the open division of Fast Track Singing Showcases (Australia's largest non-televised singing competition) and was featured on ‘The Voice’ Season 3 blind auditions.

In 2015, INDI signed to Titus Day and the 6 Degrees Group (who also manage Guy Sebastian), and she released her debut EP, co-written with James Roche of Bachelor Girl.

INDI’s new single 'Should’ve Known Better’ (Released 26th November) is her latest studio project, this time in collaboration with the songwriter/producer team at Damasta Recordings. INDI’s distinct synthpop/rock crossover sound can be likened to artists such as Charli XCX, Avril Lavigne, Tove Lo and MØ. She has taken inspiration from their edginess to create an exciting and innovative sound and style of her own.

INDI

Have you always wanted to sing?

"Music and performing is everything I've ever known as long as I can remember. I chose this path pretty much from the moment I could talk and I haven't looked back since."

Who has influenced you as a musician?

"My earliest influences were the country artists I grew up listening to – Shania Twain, Carrie Underwood and the Dixie Chicks – while living in rural Gippsland's dairy-farming district. I still hold the same appreciation for country music, but since then my vocal style and personal taste has definitely evolved. My biggest musical influences have probably been Freddie Mercury and Alanis Morrisette, for their raw, unleashed vocals, captivating lyrics and emotion-fuelled performances. Music aside, of course I would have to mention my family for playing a huge part in the person and performer I am today – they keep me grounded and have supported my dreams since day one. My younger brother Brady is severely autistic. Even the smallest of tasks can prove to be a challenge for him, and he's taught me to appreciate the small things in life. I have a beautiful partner to be thankful for, and also an amazing vocal coach, David Jaanz, who has been my mentor since I was 9 years old – I would not be where I am today without him. I am very lucky to be surrounded by such incredible people."

What are your fondest musical memories?

"I remember as a 16 year old performing a solo to a crowd of 8,000 at Hisense Arena (for the Victorian State Schools Spectacular) and I had one of those time-stopping moments I'll never forget. I just knew this was where I was meant to be, and this is what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. It was magical."

Do you get nervous when performing?

"I have performed so much over the last few years, my nerves are definitely not like they used to be, I can usually channel it into my performance in a positive way rather than letting it overcome me, it's more of a buzz."

What are you working on right now?

"I’m just about to release my new single 'Should’ve Known Better’ and I have some more new music ready for release in the new year. I just took an 18 month long break to figure out who I am as an artist and to live a little so I’m really excited to finally be putting something completely fresh out there for people to hear."

Would you like to travel with music?

"Absolutely! I would love to see where music can take me abroad, I recently returned from travelling around the UK and I've never fallen in love with a place so much so quickly, it's so different to Australia and the live music scene is huge there, so one day I'm hoping I can maybe relocate there and give music a crack over there."

Do you write your own songs?

"Sure do! I love writing by myself but equally love working with other people and collaborating ideas. I feel like my best songs have been those I've started out as ideas myself and then I've presented to another writer I know and trust, it really helps having a fresh set of ears and working with someone who knows what your direction is and can help bring out the best in you."

If so, where is your favourite place to write?

"In the studio where I teach my singing students. It has a beautiful sounding grand piano and has great acoustics and is really dimly lit, which really helps me get creative."

What is a typical day/week like for you?

"My schedule is constantly changing from week to week and that keeps things fresh and exciting. I teach my vocal students 3 times a week at the David Jaanz School of Singing, South Melbourne, and there is nothing more rewarding than imparting your knowledge and love for music on to others, and seeing the small improvements they make from week to week. Then when I'm not working my retail job, I always make sure to allow myself time to get to creative and write or jam, which helps to keep me inspired. On weekends I almost always play acoustic gigs at a number of different venues around Melbourne and I also do a lot of weddings and other events. Every gig is always different and I always have an absolute blast performing. I would never consider music a 'job' but I am INCREDIBLY grateful that I can make a living out of the thing I love most."

What personal advice would you give to someone wanting to pursue this career?

"Persistence is SO important! The current music industry is quite cut-throat and you're going to receive a lot of no's throughout your career, but ultimately it makes the successes so much sweeter and so much more rewarding. Whenever you're feeling disheartened, remember why you started in the first place. While it's all well and good to have big dreams of becoming a "star", if your heart isn't 100% in it, it's going to leave you feeling a lot less inspired and fulfilled then you'd hope for. Enjoy the small victories along the way."

"Should've Known Better" Available now http://smarturl.it/ISKB

Social Media links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page