top of page

Da Professor | "It’s my most favourite time of the year and I wanted to give back to the world&

Julio Todd, Aka, Da Professor, is a man of passion, inspiration and dedication. Through wanting to make a difference in the lives of those affected by domestic violence, Julio Todd is back with some good old Christmas cheer!

Da Professor hails from Kingston, Jamaica and posses many talents involving the creation of composing music, writing lyrics and singing in which not only delivers heartfelt messages and deeper meaning to his fans, but encompasses a total shift in attitude.

Perhaps this is due to the fact, so much of Julio Todd’s music comes from within; his soul, his natural path, in which in turns, resonates with those who find themselves crooning and dancing to his music.

In 2005, Da Professor immigrated to the United States with his family, and graduated from Thomas Edison School in New York City. He got his first break to perform live, on stage in public in 2008 in spacious Brookville Park in Rosedale Queens, NY. His career began to take off shortly thereafter, and from 2010-2013, Da Professor toured as lead singer, for the legendary band, Inner Circle. He also worked alongside Grammy winning super star and producer Don Corleone. Da Professor wrote lyrics and had songs placed with world-famous artists such as;

Protoje, Ky-Mani Marley, Ken Boothe, J Boog, Tarrus Riley, Mr. Vegas, Jah Cure, Collie Buddz, I-Octane, T.O.K., ZJ Liquid, Wayne Marshall, Bad Gyal Ce’Cile, Daville, and Romain Virgo.

Da Professor

Currently, Da Professor is working with Spiky Music Group and together creating Music Magic within the song titles under Spiky’s Record label. Da Professor’s life messages within his music can all be found within his Press kit:

We asked Julio Todd a few questions for Music Talks.

Julio, where did the name “DA PROFESSOR” originate?

"My artist name started as a nick name given to me by my childhood friends. I was around 10 or so. I decided to keep it as a reminder of my roots and those I grew up with. I was always very mature for my age and therefore, took on a leadership role."

Can you tell us, who your main influencers are or have been?

"Touring with Inner Circle was an amazing experience I was blessed with. They are a true family and as such, took me in and treated me with such kindness and respect. The band taught me so much about the industry and mentored me in perfecting my live performances. However, as an artist I felt the need to tell my personal stories through the messages within the songs I wrote and wanted to share this part of me with my fan base as well."

You have recently written a Christmas Song....Why a Christmas Song?

"Christmas is the time of year where we all come together to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. I am a very spiritual person and God is number one in my life. Therefore, it’s my most favourite time of the year and I wanted to give back to the world a new “Go To” Christmas song. Hoping that at the start of every holiday session the song will get played over and over again putting all those listening and hearing my message into the holiday spirit through New Year’s Day. It’s one of those songs I feel every artist must have in their catalog. It’s how we give back to our fans and can share together what the holidays mean when listening during this amazing spiritual time of the year."

What’s in store for DA PROFESSOR in 2017?

"My new album, Keep a look out!"

Fans can follow DA Professor and Spiky Music Group on Facebook, Instagram Social Media pages.

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page