top of page

Curtwood Bearsman | "I Lived In A Tent In The Woods"


Curtis Ehresman

My name is Curtis Ehresman and I was born and raised in the prairies of Saskatchewan, Canada. Since I picked up the guitar at the age of 12 I have had a deep passion for playing guitar, songwriting and performing. The first band I was in was called 'Anaphora' (2004-2008) and we were a heavy rock cover band, we played for many years throughout high school until I eventually started up a new metal band known as 'Quetzalcoatl' (2009-2012). We wrote our own original songs and even covered our favourite bands such as Gojira, Lamb of God, Meshuggah and Mudvayne. Since all the band members were from my local small town, we had a lack of performance opportunities, and decided to simply stage a concert in my singers backyard. This simple backyard event was known as 'GrilledCheezaPalooza' and has over the years now transformed into a giant annual music festival in Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada. After three of these musical festivals, Quetzalcoatl no longer decided to perform, but each member has continued to pursue other creative interests instead (ie. sound engineering, exploration geology & The Basement Paintings). In my case, I started writing acoustic music that was very different from my metal roots as a musician. It took a few years to build my confidence, but in 2012 I began to sing for the first time, and in February 2014 I took an Open Mic Stage by myself for the first time in my life. In April 2014 I decided to record 5 of my songs with my friend and former Quetzalcoatl bandmate Kellan Thackeray, which has now been released as the 'Curtwood Bearsman EP', available for download on my official website: www.CurtwoodBearsman.com From June to July in 2014 I lived in a tent in the woods at the Salt Spring Island Yoga Centre, and from September 2014 to March 2015 I lived in Vancouver, Canada and studied at a Divinity Graduate School. For better or worse, I decided to quit my studies, move home to Saskatchewan and pursue my musical dreams instead. Hence, my new album is entitled 'Divinity Dropout' and it encapsulates my journey of deciding to quit grad school and pursue music instead. This new album was released on April 20th, 2016, and can be streamed or purchased on my website, or any major music site such as ITunes or Spotify. After quitting grad school and moving home to Saskatchewan, Canada, I wrote a 10 song album during the summer time (which needs to be recorded). I also entered a Canadian Music competition known as CBC Searchlight, where I managed to get voted into the top 25 musicians in Saskatchewan! Many thanks to the army of voters that supported me in that competition. After spending my summer in Saskatchewan I moved to Sydney, Australia to visit my New Zealand Girlfriend whom I had previously met at the Salt Spring Island Yoga Centre. In total my girlfriend and I did 10 months of long distance so it felt amazing for all of that waiting to be over. Since arriving in Australia on September 2nd, 2015 I have once again written another 10 song album (which surprise surprise, needs to be recorded!). Furthermore, after recently working as a garden laborer in the Australian summer heat for 6 months, I have now once again decided to pursue my musical dreams full time.

Needless to say, my life has been a wild blur in the past few years, and too add to any confusion you may have about where my life is headed, as of July 4th, 2016 I have recently moved from Australia to New Zealand. I've written another 2 songs and I desperately need to get it all recorded. If you'd like to listen to my demo for free please visit my website, or simply follow me on any of my social media links to see where my crazy musical adventure will lead me next. Namaste :)

Short Music & Album Description: Curtwood Bearsman has a musical style that merges his love for metal and rock, with bluesy solos and spanish strumming, into a unique progressive acoustic-electric sound. Divinity Dropout is Curtwood's second official album release, and throughout nine songs explores his frustration with post-secondary education, and his deep desire to pursue music and travel instead. Simply put, Divinity Dropout transforms personal experiences of hope, anger, and despair into beautiful acoustic solos and melodies which aim to place your soul at ease.

Media Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page