top of page

Oli K | Music As A Profession, For Me It Was Literally Like I’d Been Struck By Lightning

Music has in fact only recently become a big focus in my life. While I was busy listening, performing, and even recording as a teen, I never anticipated that it would become a career pursuit in my future. My mother was fairly involved in theatre and in that respect, the remainder of my family had a natural ear and bias towards the arts. It was only once my wife and I were expecting our first child during my early twenties that I realized what I needed to focus on.

Often times, I’ve found that life-changing decision making can be a slow, arduous process. When it comes to music as a profession, for me it was literally like I’d been struck by lightning. I remember feeling this need to express how I feel surrounding a whole host of topics. I recall reflecting constantly about how I could offer something constructive and meaningful through an influential field. When music came along as a vehicle to achieve what I felt I needed to – well let’s just say my ambitions became a one-way street!

Oli K

Over the course of 2014, I spent the majority of my time experimenting and practicing with different sounds, sets, and demos. As I’ve always had a love for singing, I gravitated pretty quickly towards sticking to my own songwriting rather than introduce myself to the field through covers. The first few open mics were very much trial and error; getting a feel what I felt worked and what didn’t.

Taking my debut Single into the studio for the first time really validated my ambitions in terms of my musical profile. I worked hard with my producer to create something that would help give the desired first impression in terms of the public. The track ‘Different Than You,’ functioned perfectly in that role. I’ve noticed that my songwriting is very lyrically centered. This track subsequently takes poetry to a musical level with addressing topics such as diversity, prejudice, and more.

The track very much started my career in terms of being an ‘active’ musician. I was privileged to receive a nomination for Utah’s Best Single and move on to make some great connections in the local music scene. I felt the momentum really start to kick in during the summer of 2015 with some big performances and notable achievements. I had the chance to open in shows for Andy Grammer, T-Pain, Us the Duo, and Silento.

One particularly rewarding experience was the opportunity I had to write an original for the Motion Picture ‘Just Let Go.’ This nonfiction adaptation was based around the life events of Chris Williams. The family man had the unfortunate tragedy of loosing his Wife and Children in DUI accident a few years prior. The driver responsible, a young teen, was later imprisoned and placed on trial for manslaughter as he was on the verge of adulthood. The film goes on to document how Chris felt trying to live without his loved ones because of another’s poor decision making. The film was truly moving regarding the priceless attribute of forgiveness. For me, having my own original track featured in such a film was a true privilege as an artist.

During the latter end of 2015 and the first few months of 2016, I spent my time predominantly working on my debut EP Album. Similar to my initial Single release the year before, I really wanted something that would reflect messages and topics that I could constructively address.

The public launch of the album could not have gone any better. My initial music video release received well over one hundred thousand views whereas the second title track ‘Roots’ received well over two hundred thousand. I felt a massive sense of appreciation and validation when I received word that the BBC had aired the title track over multiple stations in London over a couple of weeks. The social media reception has been amazing.

At this stage I’m living the dream and continuing my ongoing work as an artist in releasing new content. My band are working thoroughly to prepare for some big shows as I keep up this forward momentum. When all has been said, that’s what I’ve learned the most in this ongoing pursuit; it’s always about the music.

Social Media Links:

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page