top of page

Kaylee Bell - Country Singer

For as long as I can remember Country Music has been a huge part of my life.

I began singing country music at the age of four years in New Zealand with my elder siblings. Weekends were spent singing or listening to country music, largely American influenced as that is all we could get access to in New Zealand before Youtube and iTunes.

For as long as I can remember Keith Urban was an artist I admired for his voice, guitar playing abilities and songwriting skills. To me he is the complete triple threat artist and on top of that he appeared to love what he did and was a good genuine person. Keith Urban was a big part of why I was so determined to win Star Maker and was a huge influence on my career and on the risks I have taken.

Having my name added to the history books alongside so many great country artists like Keith meant so much to me. To win Toyota Star Maker in 2013 was definitely something I wanted (it was my third attempt at the title) and I had already spent two years of my life fully focused on music away from all my family and friends back in New Zealand.

I made the move to Australia from South Island, New Zealand having just turned 22. Heading solo across the ditch with nothing more than a suitcase, guitar and only knowing a handful of people. I understood that I was going to have to take risks and make sacrifices a lot like Keith at the start of his career and there was comfort in knowing others had taken the flight risk and made it work. That was the little bit of hope I was holding on to.

Country music is what I love and what I hope to have a career in. Star Maker was a huge turning point as I was now getting presented so many opportunities to move ahead with and had a really incredible team to get to work with. My first question to them obviously was, “So when do I meet Keith Urban?” I had many close encounters of meeting him on my first trip to Nashville in 2011 where he presented Tommy Emmanuel with an award at the Global Artist Showcase. His appearance happened so fast that I didn’t get the opportunity.

There were other opportunities whilst I was in Nashville however our paths never quite crossed. What was in the stars was far more exciting and well worth the wait.

In June 2014 I returned to Nashville and joined 2014 Toyota Star Maker winner Jared Porter in a duet when he featured at the CMA International GlobaLive Concert. It was my third year [it was previously known as the Global Artist Showcase] and because I was in Music City at the time I was able to join Jared and perform a new duet Pieces we wrote and recorded for Jared’s new album East To West. I spent another fortnight in Nashville writing before returning to Australia.

I have seen Keith play Nashville at CMA Fest on three occasions as well as twice in one night at the Grand Ole Opry, my favourite place in Nashville which is also on the bucket list of somewhere I hope to play one day. But I had never seen Keith play on Australian soil. All my friends had booked tickets to see him play in Narrabri as part of their Armidale Uni catch-up and I thought being a rural town and having so many young country kids around would be an ideal place to go and experience an Aussie show of his.

My manager, Tom Inglis, went one step further as he has known how much of a Keith fan I am and succeeded in setting up a ‘meet and greet’ for me with Keith before the show. When Tom called to tell me the news I screamed with excitement. When I was preparing for the ‘meet and greet’ I thought about what I would say to him and if it would be appropriate to give him a gift. I put together a little music gift pack for him and knew that I’d simply have to thank him for influencing my music and my life.

The concert was on Friday, June 27, 2014. On the morning of Tuesday, June 24 I received an email and a follow up call from Keith’s Personal Assistant inviting me, as per Keith’s request, to see if I was keen to sing the Miranda Lambert duet We Were Us with him. I managed to keep it together (just) and accepted willingly. I only had three days to learn the song however, as fate has it, I was already learning the duet to sing with Damien Baguley and The Viper Creek Band at the official KU After Party.

Kaylee Bell

So this is how the week went: Tuesday I get the call. Wednesday I drove the seven hour return trip to Sydney from Bathurst to find an outfit.

Thanks to the good people at boohoo for dressing me.

Thursday I drove the six hours to Narrabri from Bathurst to stay the night in a motel. No time for being tired this week. Friday arrived and we made the announcement on social media.

I waited until Friday so Brooke Schubert who had been performing the duet during the week could enjoy her final show and moments with Keith at his Melbourne show on Thursday night.

I can’t thank you enough for your messages of support, phone calls etc. I could feel the love and I am so glad I could share the day with you all in some manner even though a lot of you are a distance away.

It was a nerve-racking, exciting time and it was nice to know you were with me all the way.

I began the day getting my hair and make up done in local Narrabri salons, followed by a quick lunch and rehearsal for the Official KU After Party with The Viper Creek Band. Sound check was at four o’clock and it was a beautiful sunny afternoon.

Keith’s band welcomed me on stage where I ran through the song twice with them. Danny Radar, Brian Nutter, Chris McHugh and Jerry Flowers who I am also huge fans of were so welcoming and fun and I felt lucky to be on the same stage as them Night time in Narrabri, middle of winter, I overlooked the fact Australia also gets freezing and two degrees is cold when you are in a short skirt, singlet and tiny jacket.

It just so happened that I was the only one with a small gas heater in my tent making it quite the social affair with some of Keith’s band, the support band Sheppard and Keith’s pilots joining me so I got the chance to talk to them all.

I wish Sheppard every success in their journey; they are such great people and their music rocks.

Around 8:00pm Keith arrived and I was invited to join him in his trailer. I was so nervous I didn’t know what to take or do so I took him my gift package I had intended for the ‘meet and greet’. I can honestly say it was like seeing an old friend and he made me feel so welcome and comfortable that I forgot I was standing in the trailer of a superstar. I sang the song with him on his Maton acoustic and chatted about New Zealand, Star Maker, Nashville and I thanked him for his music and told him how much of an inspiration he had been to me and my music over the years. He then took the selfie you have all seen on FB. Shortly after he started his show. I was due on about an hour in. Keith introduced me as the Star Maker winner which he’d won in 1990 and I am the first Kiwi born since, We then cranked into the song and it was such a cool 4 minutes I will remember for the rest of my life. I do remember looking at Keith and him looking so cold, 2 degrees is not ideal temperature to sing and after my teeth finished chattering I managed to sing some notes.

The crowd was awesome, as a country crowd always is and it was a nice feeling knowing I had friends in the audience. It was a ‘once in a lifetime’ moment to share the stage with Keith Urban.

Following my performance, I watched the show side of stage where his guitar techs were busy re-tuning guitars and Danny and Jerry were coming over and high-fiving and looking over to sing the words with me. I even caught a big grin off Keith as he turned to where I was before starting his hit song Somebody Like You.

When he finished his show, he ran off the stage to out back stage and headed for the car to take him to his plane. He spotted me, called out and came over to give me a hug and kiss. He thanked me for joining him saying it was fantastic and he left.

I feel so lucky I got to spend time with him and sing with him, I think I am one of the luckiest people and I am very grateful, humbled and in awe.

I still can’t believe I can now say, I sang a duet with KEITH URBAN.

Kaylee x

Thank you to the following people:

Keith Urban-thank you for the opportunity and for singing with me!!

Keith’s band and team – thank you for being so kind and friendly Val – thank you for making it all happen

Tom Inglis – thank you for being such a great manager and making my dream come true Cheryl Byrnes – for your friendship, support and sharing in the moment with me

Anna Andre – for styling me for the day Boo Hoo – for the awesome outfits I was loaned for the performance with Keith and KU Official After Party

Damien Baguley and Chris Watson – thank you for filming the duet and capturing the moment

Kim Howarth – thank you for doing my hair on the day Toyota – for the wheels and ongoing support

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page