top of page

TORI DARKE - Singer/Acoustic Guitarist


Described as the ‘Full Package’ with her powerful vocals, heartbreakingly beautiful voice, passionate song writing, and mesmerizing on-stage presence, has given Tori the opportunity to travel to Canada, Nashville & LA, performing and song writing, sharing the stage with incredible international artists such as Kenney Chesney, JoDee Messina, Pam Tillis, while closer to home, Troy Cassar-Daley, Adam Harvey & The McClymonts to name a few.

Tori’s songs have also appeared on several compilation CDs for EMI, WARNER & UNIVERSAL.

Tori’s Story:

The journey for me started when I was very young. As a little girl, I had a love of music. My parents were competitive Rock n Roll Dancers and went wherever they went. Music was in my blood since entering the stage at the very early age of 3, dancing to Elton John & Bernie Taupin’ # 1 hit ‘Crocodile Rock’. I was the baby on the stage.

Little did I know that years later I would become a professional singer/songwriter with a great passion for Country music.

Entering many competitions & talent quests from age 12, in and around my home town of Camden NSW, my parents decided to take the journey a little farther and entered me into festival competitions in regional areas of NSW & QLD where I took out first place at many of these festivals.

At 15, I was announced the overall champion at the Hunter Valley Country Music Festival where I was offered my very first gig at the Menangle House Horse & Jockey Inn which lasted for more than three years as a resident artist.

This little country venue set the scene for me to realize, the stage was where I wanted to be.

I was inspired by artists such as; Keith Urban, Shania Twain, Martina McBride, Faith Hill and in later years Carrie Underwood, Lady Antebellum & Martina McBride.

Having a passion to learn guitar and being left handed, I pretty much taught myself and continued to perfect my guitar skills to become a part of my everyday performances; my guitar has become my best friend.

With guitar in hand and many miles between venues and festivals, I hit the road to hone my craft.

In 2008 I won the inaugural Toyota Gympie Music Muster that really helped to kick-start my music career, which earned me a spot to perform at The Merritt Mountain Country Music Festival in Canada the following year.

Having a love of children I wanted to touch the hearts of some less fortunate than myself, so in late 2008 I visited the children at Ronald McDonald House in Parramatta to sing for them. 30 minutes with the children turned into 3 hours; I found I couldn’t tear myself away from them.

A little 4-year-old girl broke my heart when she told me; ‘I have leukemia and I am going to heaven because I’m going to die because there is no cure for my sickness’.

When I left, I broke down and balled my eyes out. At that moment I got out my pen and started writing, and within a few days had contacted another songwriter, Drew McAlister and showed him what I had written. Drew helped me put together a song we named, ‘Not My Time To Fly’, which we pretty much wrote in about half an hour.

This song went to # 3 on the charts & the Country Music Channel.

Ronald McDonald House Charity later contacted me to become an Ambassador for Ronald McDonald House and chose my single, ‘Not My Time To Fly’ as their theme song on the Ronald McDonald House Charity Testimonial DVD.

This touched me more than anything you can ever imagine, as I didn’t know at the time, just how many people all around the world would be touched by my song.

Still, 6 years later, fans continue to come up to me at shows, send me emails telling me a storey about a family member who has suffered from Leukemia/Cancer, other diseases and how my song had also touched their hearts.

This little girl is now 9 years old and remains in remission, which makes me so very happy.

Music is my life, my passion and the love of what I do.

Lee Kernaghan quoted saying "She's got something, it's a kind of magic, and we just hope that Tori takes it to the limit from here. The debut album is a beauty, there's a lot of singles on it and I know we're going to hear a whole lot more from this talented new artist".

In 2011 & 2012 I was nominated as a finalist in the prestigious CMC Awards, nominated in the CMC OZ Artist of the Year, and CMC New Oz Artist of the Year & CMC Video Clip of the Year.

In 2013 I was named on the bill of one of the most prestigious festivals of the year, CMC Rocks the Hunter, performing alongside major International & Australian artists.

Another highlight was performing at the much-talked about title fight between Mundine and Geale at the IBF Middleweight Title Fight, where I sang the National Anthem at Sydney’s Entertainment Centre in front of more than 100,000 while being televised world wide.

Earlier this year I released my 2nd Album ‘Silver Lining’

with songs I have penned and co-written with some of the world’s most acclaimed songwriters.

A dream come true ‘Silver Lining’ charted a # 1 on the Australian ARIA Country Album Charts within the first week of it’s release as well as charting # 3 on the Australian ARIA all genres Chart and # 9 on the ARIA international Country Charts.

I could not have asked for any better news!

My ‘Silver Lining’ tour is now underway performing throughout Victoria, Queensland & NSW. Venue’s and festival details are available on my website. www.toridarke.com

​

  • Spotify - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page